Stone Tumblr, and Q&A #7

Will the social platform fest never end? You can now follow me on Twitter and Tumblr as well.

I’ve recently finished a massive quintet + choir based on the Song of Storms, the Song of Healing, Kafei and Anju’s marriage theme, the Mayor’s theme, the Clock Town theme and Majora’s theme. The next number is Darmani’s aria and his short interaction with Kafei. I have been struggling with its structure, so I took some time off to get fresh ideas.

By time off I mean working on something else of the opera. ^_^

I tested the Stone Tower theme with some ancient instruments, just as a sample to see how it would sound:

.

Time for Q&A #7:

TwilightDeku: Woo hoo! I am loving this! I just have one question. Will you be filming the opera as a movie…. or touring and performing it live?

At this point I don’t know how many resources can be invested in the finished product so as to make a tour possible, but it’s definitely not something I would refuse! Ideally, live performances and a film of the stage work would both be expected.

.

BowserTheSecond: [referring to DEMO #2] Is that that same guy who played Mutoh in the Town Hall demo?

The audio is from the same person, yes, but not the video. Sometimes the original singers are available for the video recordings, sometimes they’re not. In the latter case, we use someone who knows the music and can act it out well. We manage fine either way, because we always record audio first. You can tell by looking at the updated credits in the videos.

.

kidkidkid12345: Will Sakon be a main character? And… Will Nintendo allow you to do this?

If by main character you mean vital to the plot, then yes. If you mean if he appears often, he appears as often as Kafei sees him. The three main points of view through which the audience gets the story are Kafei’s, Anju’s and the Happy Mask Salesman’s.

As for Nintendo allowing the staging of the work, I will only find out after I have managed to contact them and made my presentation of the opera.

4 Responses to “Stone Tumblr, and Q&A #7”

  1. Did you get perfect take every time, or are there bloopers? Or did you delete those?

  2. From what I’ve seen, you are taking Link’s role and replacing him with Kafei (essentially) What kind of interaction with the Ikana do you think he will have?

    • Kafei isn’t as capable as Link nor do I think he’ll be taking Link’s role as the classic hero. It looks like Kafei’s story will be much more personal and grounded than Link’s quest.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    I’m so glad you’re including the Stone Tower theme–it’s one of my favorites! Are you going to include all of the songs from the Majora’s Mask soundtrack, or are you going to have to skip a few? I imagine it might be difficult to fit in things like Kamaro’s Dance, and if Link’s not there than songs like Zelda’s Lullaby and the Song of Time probably wouldn’t make sense to include.

    In any case, thank you for putting so much time and effort into this project–Majora’s Mask is my favorite Zelda game and it really deserves more recognition. I wish you luck!

Leave a comment