Song of Storms Poll

Alright, where do I start?

I’ve been having health issues for the past weeks, and it all culminated in a very painful experience last Wednesday which is fortunately over.

The animation of demo #4 has been slowed down again, so I think it better not to try and state another deadline just for it to be postponed again. I’ll just say it will be ready soon.

That Act II progress bar on the right has been stuck at 27% for quite some time, and I intend to finally go on with it, but first something must be solved. I finally noticed why the writing of Act II was bugging me:

In the beginning of Act II there’s a sum up of the issues of a bunch of characters. It’s a long section that lasts for about 20 minutes mixing the Clock Town theme, the Song of Storms, the Song of Healing, Kafei and Anju’s love theme and remnants of the Mayor’s theme, interrupted at some point by a section on Majora.

We have, at Clock Town, the carpenters who keep working under the rain, Anju and the Mayor who miss Kafei (for entirely different reasons, mind you) and the Happy Mask Salesman who, seeing all the sorrow around him, wonders where Skull Kid is so that he might attempt the retrieval of Majora’s Mask. Also, tricked by Sakon and thinking that he is following a good lead, we have an exhausted Kafei trying to climb the snowy mountain pass, along with Skull Kid who stalks him just for fun, to “play” with him.

Every one of these characters expounds their current state, and all the themes that are mixed together have a common denominator: the Song of Storms, which accompanies the second day’s rainy skies.

I thought myself retarded when I finally noticed what was probably making this section not up to par with the rest: The sketches for this have lyrics set to the exact theme of the Song of Storms. Now think of that theme, and have in mind the first three notes. Any singer can do an octave leap (from the 1st to the 3rd notes), but I have found that the 2nd note makes it awkward. Maybe, if I leave the theme as an instrumental and have the singers variate on it in a more lyrical fashion, it won’t sound so awkward.

Or maybe I’m just underestimating the ability of good opera singers to do those vocal embellishments.

The thing is, it’s already hard to understand the lyrics in operatic singing, maybe a more comfortable line along with the original Song of Storms in the instrumental would both allow for better understanding and enrich the whole setting.

What do you think?

Here is a poll on which I would like you all to vote. If there are other reasons for your decision, please speak your mind in a comment on this post.

13 Responses to “Song of Storms Poll”

  1. Obviously it depends on the outcome, but I can totally sing the first three notes without riuning the sound or my vocal cords and I’m not even a good singer, so I can’t wait to hear what pros can do.
    Do some tests. If you see/hear that it doesn’t sound right, you can still scrap it!

  2. as a composer myself, I WOULD use lyrics, however I would use a slightly less awkward melody in the beginning, and maybe use the original melody for the chorus, or in a bigger, louder, more built up part. That way the excitement should be increased, when the music gets louder, and then people finally hear that melody they love so much along with it

  3. Commander Phishkish Says:

    Instead of the whole town singing Song of Storms theme, you should have all of the people singing their various themes together. With all of the themes going on, in the backround there would be a small Song of Storms accompianment to go with all of the themes that eventually all fit together.

  4. I agree with Javalen & The Dragon. I wouldn’t start with the Song of Storms itself, but rather, have a bit of an accompanying melody leading into the Song of Storms. The Song of Storms itself is short and repetitive and wouldn’t really make for a good piece if it didn’t have a “creative extension” of sorts…which is where you come in.

  5. Moblinarea Says:

    It is a sad fact, that operatic singing makes it hard to understand lyrics, but on the other hand that’s why libretti and subtitles were invented. I’d say that’s a good idea you have, but 20 mins of same simple tune that lasts maybe ten seconds is likely to drive the listener crazy, even if you mix others amidst. Have carpenters sing Song of Storms, Anju and Mayor have a duet in love theme, song of healing with HMS, and maybe return to Song of Storms with Kafei.

  6. Emerest Says:

    I’ve always LOVED the Song of Storms, but to have enough material to tell a good story through lyrics, it needs new melody lines. Craft new music around the story you want to tell, it will be better that way.

  7. f(x)=12/x Says:

    Thinking about it for some minutes, I had 2 small ideas:
    1-What if the second note was a brief staccato? I’m not a professional singer, but this way it seemed a little easier to me…
    2-Let the original theme instrumental for some time, then variate the second note to a 5th far from the first one (instead of the original minor 3rd) or anyway something more singer-friendly. This is the variation used in Super Smash Bros Brawl (in the OoT medley).
    Anyway, I think the Song of Storms can be easier to be sung when slowed down. And with a bit of practice, professional singers can do almost anything.
    Don’t give up: Kafei wouldn’t, if it was for Anju. ;-)

  8. tranland Says:

    I think the lyrical variations are a good idea, but it would be nice if the original theme popped up at least once in the song, perhaps at the climax or another important line. Best of luck!

  9. Lightwulf Says:

    Well, I’d say I’m in agreement with some of the above opinions.
    I’m an experienced singer, but not an operatic singer; therefore, I don’t know the meaning of all the terms used. Anyway, if people really think the first three notes are awkward, you could always try moving the first 2 notes up one, one-and-a-half or two lines on the bar and leave the third, fourth, fifth and sixth notes the same. See how that sounds.
    I do agree with tranland about having the original notes at least once during the song.

  10. kram1032 Says:

    Erm…
    Could you give a, like, 15sec example on each of he variants you propose so we (I) know what the exact issue is, you’re refering to?
    I’m really not sure how to vote on the poll without hearing this.

  11. I think that, while I voted “Yes”, the SoS should be kept as the part of the song that is sung by thee carpenters. They are the ones who are toiling away, out in the rain, with very little ultimate purpose to what they’re doing.

  12. I can see it being good, if you do it in a sort of chant way; see ‘something wicked this way comes’ choir from the harry potter films.

  13. If you were to do it, and it turned out singing the D-A-D^ was difficult, why not just sing 3 Ds, either octave? Especially if you waited until a more energetic part of the song, it wouldn’t sound out of place in the slightest.

Leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,543 other followers

